Where there’s Percy Jackson there are Spinebreakers!

Spinebreakers
Some of
the Spinebreakers editorial team went to the launch event for the blockbuster
new movie, Percy Jackson Sea of Monsters, based on the book of the same name,
by Rick Riordan. Here’s what they thought . . .


PercyJacksonAgnes Okanlawon

Attending the premier of Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters
was one of the highlights of my summer. I am a massive fan of Percy Jackson and
all things demi-god related, so I really appreciated all the little kooky
extras like the blue sweets and magic tricks.

I would recommend that anyone who has read the books
still go see the film because it’s a must for all fans. Anyone who hasn’t read
the books should be ashamed! But also should still go see it also because it is
an action packed fantasy with good characters and an interesting cast. I would
like to thanks Spinebreakers for the tickets and also for the starting my love
of the Percy Jackson books. I can’t wait to see if anymore of the series become
movies. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole event and feel blessed to have seen Logan
Lerman up close, front and centre in 3D!

Megan Quibell

10 of the Best Bits about Percy Jackson Sea of Monsters

1. Hermes,
played by Nathan Fillion, and George & Marth

2. Seeing
Grover in a dress!

3. Annabeth
is blonde! Alexandra Daddario now has the beauty, brains, spirit, strength and
looks of Annabeth!

4. The
3D is absolutely mind-blowingly stunning

5. The
relationship between Percy and Tyson

6. The
very-very end is just perfect. Absolutely perfect.

7. Mr
D, AKA Dionysus, the god of wine. He’s hilarious. I mean, he’s a complete
jerky, but he’s just so funny.

8. All
the witty banter, especially between Percy and Clarisse

9. The
romance was so true to the book

10. This
film stuck so, so much closer to the book than the first film

 

Ruth Walbank

Like all book to film adaptations, the film was quite
different from the book. Bits from the other Riordan books had been added in
and changed slightly but I don't think this detracted from the film. I think
all book lovers know that when a book is adapted into a film, it's going to be
very different from the original in one way or another, so there were no
surprises there! On the other hand, I would recommend trying not to compare
this film to the book. I tend to find that when you do, you will always leave
the cinema disappointed and if you go to see a film, you should enjoy yourself
as much as possible! Otherwise what's the point in going to see it?

Overall, I expect this film to do as we'll as the first
film did. As a whole, the film was excellent, and I have to add that the 3D was
very well done. I congratulate Thor Freudenthal on his directing and Marc
Guggenheim on his adaptation of the book. I look forward to seeing how Percy
Jackson is going to be revived after its long 3 year rest from the first
film! 

 


PercyJacksonandtheSeaofMonstersAtifa Jiwa

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters is visually impressive
with the fantasy elements brought to life in stunning 3D shots. An audience is
immersed in everything from an underwater world to scenes made of vibrant
stained glass. Most aesthetically pleasing is a watching a hippocampus (a water
creature that looks like it's half horse, half rainbow) jump out of the ocean.
For me, that was one of the most beautiful pieces of cinema I've ever seen.

 Peter Hartlaub noted that Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters
is "an easy film to pick apart" and indeed, if you're looking beyond
face-value, it's easy to be disappointed by the clumsy plot edits,
cringe-worthy one liners and unfortunate cliché. But ignoring that, this is one
of the most easy to watch and easy to enjoy films you'll come across this year.

 3/5 stars. An enjoyable (and wonderfully
family-appropriate) adventure film with a pleasing dose of Greek myth. And if
those reasons aren't good enough? Two words. Logan. Lerman.

 Chuo Ying Ye

The long awaited sequel really lived up to its
expectation. The action and story was exciting indeed and I believe that during
the film not a single whisper was heard, even if the audience contained quite a
lot of young children, showing that Percy Jackson has once again captured the
entire attention of the views – a difficult task to do. When the film finished,
I was actually speech-less because it was just that good. The story was not
confusing and carried on very well from the last movie. This new adventure of
Percy's to obtain the golden fleece was amazing to watch, it reminded me of
when I was younger and how mesmerised I was about Greek mythology and how each
God has certain powers. Since it is a movie for everybody, humour, action and a
little bit of romance is incorporated into it. At times I was laughing at the
slap-stick comedy but at points I was on the verge of tears, taking me on an
emotional roller-coaster. If I was obsessed enough with the film before – Logan
Lerman's looks play a big part in this obsession – I am even more drawn in now.
I would rate the film 5/5 and hope that others enjoyed it as much as I did, a
thrilling experience all in all.

 

Leave a comment