52 Puffins – # 10 Mr Lancaster or Dad (The Fault in our Stars)

Congratulations to Mr John Green and his phenomenal book The Fault in our Stars– this week all those lovely Richard and Judy readers voted it their favourite!There are lots of very memorable characters, some of whom will break your heart, but Nicola (one of our delightful marketing team) has chosen the one guy who's always there when you need him. Mr Lancaster, or dad, is her nomination for 52 Puffins – Waiting in the wings. I think she's quite right, he reminds me of someone very special too.


#tfios1.    Name: 
Mr Lancaster or Dad (from The Fault in Our Stars #TFIOS)

2.    Famous Friends: Mrs Lancaster, Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters

3.    Hero or villain? An absolute hero

4.    Why you love him? 

He
loves his daughter unashamedly, he’s not afraid to cry (a lot!) or be honest
with his family about his fears for Hazel – and he watches America’s Next
Top Model
 ! He also has a funny sense-of-humour and reminds me
of someone very close to me.

5.    What’s his catchphrase?

Rather
than a catchphrase, I’ll give a few wonderful quotes. . .

"Dad
kissed me on the forehead, the kiss all stubble
. . .!

Meeting Hazel and her Mom at the airportDad
had a sign of his own. MY BEAUTIFUL FAMILY, it read, and then underneath that
(AND GUS).

“I don’t know what I believe Hazel. I
thought being an adult meant knowing what you believe, but that has not been my
experience.

6.    Tell us something we might not know.

He’s
far far brighter than people give him credit for.

7.    What does he dream of?

Comfort and happiness for his daughter.

8.   Where would you go to hang out together?

On the sofa, in front of the TV.

What is 52 Puffins – Waiting in the wings? Well, although we love our main characters, in 2013 we think it's time to celebrate the supporting cast: the extras with the witty one-liners, the dastardly villains and the best friend every hero would be lost without. Who's your favourite?  
Download 52 Puffins – Questions – Download me!and send your answers to puffinblog@uk.penguingroup.com (and don't forget to draw a picture!)